Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm xtreme TMJ RN OAL / bullet deforming

Seamastersw

I'm pretty new to reloading 9mm and just started using the xtreme 124gr TMJ rn bullets at an OAL of 1.165". The max OAL my Lyman book says is 1.169" and I saw Brian Enos recommends as longer OAL for reliability on his Lenny McGill video. When I load two rounds in a mag in my Glock 26, and fire one to let the gun chamber the next round, the bullet point gets damaged. It appears during the chamfering process the bullets strikes the bottom edge of the feed ramp, deforms, then gets directed into the chamber. I reduced my OAL to 1.165" and still have the damage occurring although to a lesser extent. My Glock 26 is a new Gen 4 model with a test fire date of March 2015.

My load was:

Mostly Speer lawman brass

Xtreme 124gr TMJ round nose bullet

CCI 500 small pistol primer

5.8 and 6.0 grains of power pistol powder.

What OAL do you guys recommend, powder charge ectera? I'm going to make a batch at 1.145" at 5.2grains of power pistol. And see if that does anything.

COL should be as long as possible--given 100% feed and chamber reliability.

In most cases, if the round jams against the feed ramp, the COL is too long.

If the round jumps up and jams at the top of the barrel, the COL is too short.

Per Ramshot:

"SPECIAL NOTE ON CARTRIDGE OVERALL LENGTH “COL”

It is important to note that the SAAMI “COL” values are for the firearms and ammunition manufacturers industry and must be seen as a guideline only.

The individual reloader is free to adjust this dimension to suit their particular firearm-component-weapon combination.

This parameter is determined by various dimensions such as

1) magazine length (space),

2) freebore-lead dimensions of

the barrel,

3) ogive or profile of the projectile and

4) position of cannelure or crimp groove.

• Always begin loading at the minimum "Start Load".

• Increase in 2% increments towards the Maximum Load.