Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Off center primer strikes

harryorwell

This part time gunsmithing will make your ass crave stovewood! So I get all the CGW stuff installed on the compact i bought, Race hammer, SRS1 and a couple of others and finally got the range today. After my first mag I started to get FTF's. Upon checking i found what's in the attached pic. I tried about 8 or so fresh rounds and they all had the same result. I'm new to all this stuff so I'm clueless. It doesnt seem like this could be the result of any of the mod's i installed. I was shooting cheap remanufactured rounds from Freedom Arms but they havent given me any trouble in the past. For the record i made sure i had the CGW firing pin spring they sent along with the firiing pin retainer they sent. Also had the blue hammer spring installed.

On a side note...Seems like I learn a very valuable (read expensive) lesson each time i try to do stuff like this...in this case it was that you should always shoot the gun first before you attempt any upgrades. Sure wish someone would have told me that first. So no...i don't know if this was a pre-existing condition. And no i'm not going to put all that old stuff back in to find out. Someone here needs to write a book about dumb ass mistakes not to make when modifying firearms...i'll buy two copies in case i lose one. At least i have managed not to shoot myself!

post-39849-0-91341100-1426211142_thumb.j

Failures To Feed, or Failures to Fire? FTF gets used for both, unfortunately.

Was the gun closing enough to be able to pull the trigger and the hammer falls?

Edited by MAC702

Failures To Feed, or Failures to Fire? FTF gets used for both, unfortunately.

Was the gun closing enough to be able to pull the trigger and the hammer falls?