Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reload Epiphany: Where to Look

Smitty79

I've been trying to train with purpose for the last 2 months. Near daily dry fire using drills, mainly from Ben Stoeger's books. The skill I've had the most problem with was my reload. I'm shooting a CZ85. It has no bevel to the mag well at all. I've been missing the hole a lot.

Today, I did a little over 50 dry fire reloads and tried to look at where I was missing the mag well. About 80% were on the back end of the mag catching on the back edge of the mag well. I shifted where I look at the mag well and did 10 straight smooth reloads at speed. I've never done that before. :D

Edited by Smitty79

I'm shooting a Glock 34 which has the "ICE " magwell. I initially looked down towards the butt of my pistol as I watched he'd the magazine being inserted!

I have found by practicing without looking down, focusing in on my next target. I am quicker to re-engage!

Not that I'm an expert, but focus precisely where you want to go. I use the "tip to tip" method of fingertip on bullet tip. I focus on the front of the magwell (on a glock there's a divot to aim for) and basically point my finger onto the front edge of the magwell. (I'm saying magwell for lack of a better term: I don't use any magwell add-ins other than a plug.). Because the magazine is behind my finger, it goes right in and my finger/hand slides up the grip as I insert the mag, putting me back into proper grip. That was my epiphany, anyway.

for the longest time i could never get my relaods below 1.7 secs .... i then made a sight change to the angle of the gun, enabling me to see the magwell better and my times started to drop ... this morning's dryfire session session included 1.2 sec reloads ...