Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Home refinishing

Carlos

At the request of Carmoney, here is more information regarding black phosphating or black parkerizing. I realized in looking over my photos that: I am a terrible photographer! (Siggy found this out the hard way last time I posted a pic on be.com - thanks again) I took these photos last summer with the intent to show the process and (as you will see) the photographs do a poor job of explaining things. I'll try to fill in the gaps with text, but you will have to use your imagination at times. I also want to add that I am not a gunsmith. I get together with friends and we work together on our projects but I only refinish guns as a hobby and I have never charged a dime for my help. On to the project. In the original thread I expalined:

Traditional zink park is colored from light to dark grey to the holy-grail of park: WWII green. In contrast to the traditional zink parkerizing, I use modern manganese park which is coal black on high carbon steel like the 4140 used to make STI (less black on castings like the Para).

First, our guns as they were (if you look close, you can see the wear-marks from the holsters on the underside of the dust-covers):

click here for larger picturesite1027_t.JPG

Two of these guns were blued, shot for several seasons and then the slides were milled with flutes. I'll leave it up to the owners of these guns to come forward here on be.com if they want. The gun with the short/wide SV frame is Tawn Argeris (Team SV) old Open gun that I bought in 2001. I built a limited top end for it and previously parked that; these photos show the park of the lower. The guns been through a lot & still shoots great.

click here for larger picturesite1028_t.JPG

This shot should show the bare steel left after the fluting. It also shows how dirty & well used these limited blasters were.