Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading 9mm major help needed:)

DrLove

Ok folks, so I’ve tried to avoid reloading all I can but I’m failing. Other than the AAA 38 super major loads I can buy every now and then, I’m feeling I’ll just have to start reloading.

Now you have to understand I’m a complete newbie to the whole world of reloading. I have no clue what kind of equipment, or supplies do I need. So I really need to ask for a big favor. Can someone just give me a “summary for dummies” kind of thing now on how do I even start. I don’t mean reloading data, I actual mean everything, tools, etc. I have no clueJ.

My plan would be to reload 9mm major at some point, that’s all I knowJ.

Edited by DrLove

DrLove I love that name. I was like you about year ago. Now I reload 9mm and 45 ACP and soon 40 S&W. 1. See if you can attend A class or a seminar on reloading. 2. Purchase the books THE ABC'S OF RELOADING and LYMAN RELOADING HANDBOOK.

I attend a Seminar at local sport & goods that sold reloading equipment. Now some will tell you to start off with Single stage press but I jump with both feed in and purchased a Hornady lock n load progressive press. It was simple just take your time and follow the recipes to work up to your favorite load. But back to you. You will need loading dies for the caliber you will be shooting. Bullet puller hammer for the mistake you will make, and yes you will make mistakes. :goof: And if you go progressive I highly recommend purchasing the RCBS Lock out die. You will need a primer tray and the list goes on. For the Press the Big three Dillon, Hornady, and RCBS. All three have advantages dis-advantages. But after month you will wonder why you waited so long.

Edited by kmaultsby

I would strongly recommended buying a chronograph and budgeting for it as part of your initial reloading equipment purchase.