Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading For Glocks...

jcountry

I am new to reloading. I have a single stage Honady LNL.

I am planning on starting with 9mm and moving up to .45. I have a G17, G19, and G21. All factory barrels.

I am definitely NOT using lead bullets. Only copper-jacketed for these. Question I have is whether you guys would recommend sticking with the factory barrel (with that small section of the chamber unsupported) or whether I would be better off with an aftermarket barrel.

Thanks

If you plan on running the rounds at normal PF for USPSA and not shooting open, then yeah, you should be GTG. You would be surprised maybe though to see some of the brass you will probably be picking up on ranges in the future. You will think that your Glock barrel must be a new BarSto. I doubt those barrels with typical chamber pressures and prudent reloading practices, would be an issue at all and should serve you fine. Especially if you are planning on running jacketed.

Have fun and play safe.

Thanks-

I am just planning on staying conservative. Definitely not fooling with max loads.

I know what people are talking about with strange-looking brass coming out of Glocks, though. My cousin shoots a .40 and it has crazy bulges-even on once-fired brass. My 9mm and .45 never looks anything like that. Man-that .40 really works the brass. Not sure that I would even try to reloading something that looks that strange.

Edited by jcountry

It is not even Glock barrels. Many factory barrels are looser than the custom barrels. It is not by a lot but the MAX SAAMI cartridge size for a .40 S&W is 0.424". The custom barrels might have a chamber of 0.426" or 0.427" so anyone reloading has to be careful and ensure that ALL rounds are below that measurement. These barrels tend to be in guns used for competition rather than day to day defensive carry.