Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Decisions decisions

slinginlead

Ok, I am new to the USPSA shooting. I am going to have to travel from my little town I live in to Houston to start competing. I currently shoot 2 IDPA matches a month here and I have been shooting for A LONG TIME.

I currently shoot a STI Trojan in 9mm and I reload all my own stuff.

I am currently looking to get an open gun. I was told to go to .38 super. So, would you stay with the 9mm or go .38 super and build a round for that gun? Also would I be best off with a STI Trubore or try to find something else and wait 6 months for a build?

Thank you for your time.

Shane

Stay with 9mm? 9MAJOR is what you talking about. I shoot a 9 and would never consider switching to a 38. Some have good luck with stock STI's but many need work to bring them up to par. I would email Matt Cheely and have him build you a 9.

I'm all for the 9mm option. Especially if you'll load for 2 of them... no press changes, just adjust powder and keep going. Sounds good to me. On the Gun, think about a local gun smith that you shoot with. Not sure if it's an option, but I purchased from a gun smith that I shoot with and if he has to work on it he can just take it home from a match and then bring it next week! Make sure to research him and don't just trust any squid that offers. When in doubt, I don't think ANYONE has complained about a Trubore.

I have two TruBore's - one tuned by Dawson and one tuned by Brazos, both 9mm major.

Only disadvantage to the TruBore that I 've heard of is that you can't get a 1.5 - 2.5 lb

trigger without changing parts - but that's fine with me - I'm at 3 - 3.5 lbs and that's as

light as I'd like to go. If you're looking for a real light trigger - probably best to get one

made for you - but, I'd buy the TruBor now so you can start shooting - you'll need a

backup gun for later, anyway.

Brazos runs like a champ unless I need a new spring ... I use the Dawson for practice.