Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What is Not Allowed for Open

Cowboy40

Ok so I'm new to the Open division. I have been awarded the MidwayUSA and NRA Scholarship to shoot in the 2013 Bianchi Cup in May. I have a local gun smithing shop that is willing to lend me a gun for the event. He does awesome work and puts Trijicon Red Dot Sights on the top. This I know is allowed in Open along with his stippling work.

My question is this. He does custom Slide Serrations on the top and sides of the pistols that are not factory. Is this legal?

Here is his web site for pictures ateiguns.com/

Please let me know I have read through the NRA's competitive pistol rules and it is not specific when it comes to the Open Division.

Thanks for your help! Stay Safe

I doubt anything you can come up with would be illegal on a Bianchi. A lot of the stuff that USPSA uses today like thumb rests that also make excellent barricade rests came from those guns.

Dots with multiple dots for the movers are a nice addition.

3.1 Open Firearms - Any semi-automatic handgun or revolver used in competition shall be serviceable and

safe. If any pistol is observed to be unserviceable or unsafe, it shall be withdrawn at the request of the tournament

director. The term "firearm" as used in these rules includes anything attached, permanently or temporarily, to the

pistol. All standard safety features of the guns must operate properly.

Though when I shot the match 20 years ago there wasn't an Open 1911 that the grip safety hadn't been pinned.

Edited by GigG

Open is basically a run what you want division. the guns pictured in your link will well within the rules, most of the open competitors will be running much more specialized equipment.

here is a link to the NRA action pistol rule book http://competitions.nra.org/documents/pdf/compete/RuleBooks/Action/act-book.pdf

Mike