Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First DQ - manually decocking the hammer

cpa5oh

I've got an 85 combat that I've been shooting in USPSA Production for about 3 months now. I've manually decocked the hammer hundreds and hundreds of times with no issue. Gun *had* an 11.5# hammer spring in it. Gun also has an extended firing pin and reduced power firing pin spring.

I was never comfortable with the idea that I HAD to use Federal Small Pistol primers, and Federal primers are scarce right now around here, so this week I put the 13# hammer spring back in the gun. Didn't shoot it with the 13# spring in it before today's match. FIRST stage I decocked as normal and the gun went off - DQ. (I had the gun pointed straight downrange into the berm, so there was no danger to anyone as far as I could tell...but it was a DQ nonetheless.) The way I was lowering the hammer before must've been fine with the 11.5# spring, but not with the 13# spring (there really is a big difference, as noticed with the difference in the DA pull.) I went to the gun range and practiced lowering the hammer - definitely, there's less room for error with the 13# spring.

I've gone back and read a bunch of threads here and on Enos about lowering that hammer manually. I think I can do it without a problem if I do it a little differently than I was doing it before (rather than simply pinching the hammer, I'll pinch it with a third finger in between the hammer and firing pin and slip the third finger out as the hammer lowers.)

Question I have is whether you guys are using the extended firing pin with reduced power firing pin spring AND the 13# hammer spring? I'm a little spooked that the little bit of free travel that hammer had set the gun off...wondering if maybe the 13# spring AND extended firing pin/spring makes it more dangerous than it needs to be.