Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

what camera for recording matches

I use the GoPro and love it. Felt like an A$$ the first time I used the head gear but then everyone wanted to use it. Now I share it with a few guys at matches. Would share the video with you but you would just mock my shooting ability :blush:

Here's my video from the Pro-Am this weekend. I use a Replay XD 1080 camera as well as an iPhone (4, not 4S) and edit them together in Adobe Premiere. The Replay is cool, really durable (it's taken a beating so far and has held up great) and good quality video. The audio, however, sucks. Now there are some internal software format settings I might need to fidget with, but it's bad enough so far that I use the audio from my iPhone. As far as the match goes, I just started shooting Open a month ago, so go easy. Click the YouTube link in my signature for a bunch of other videos.

I'll second the kodak playsport...easy to teach anybody..just tell them to push one button to record...For my head cam, I use a contour roam...pretty good also because you can attach them to your ear muffs and also just slide the switch to record, slide back to stop..

sample video

• 2 weeks later...

Hello: I am needing one for nationals and will look at the Kodak also. I need one to get video of me taken by another person so it has to be easy to use. Not ready for a hat cam yet maybe in a year or so. Thanks, Eric

I use a small Sony handycam,, model CX150, I found it online for about $150. It is full 1080 HD and has 16GB internal memory as well as excepting SD cards. The nice thing about a small camcorder is if there is no one to film you, you can set it up on a tripod downrange and film yourself.