Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Any hobby welders out there?

I second Miller. I have a Millermatic 185 Mig and it will do just about anything a "hobby" welder needs to do. A Synchowave Tig welder is on my wish list.

My family has a shop and we restore cars and drag race a little. We use the mig welder for sheet metal work. It is also great for making target stands, plate racks, etc.

Go to www.millerwelds.com for info on welding.

Lincoln Electric is the other top name in welders.

There isn't all that much "to learn" when it comes to MIG welding. It is about as close to point and shoot as welding gets. In school we were not allowed to touch the MIG until we had completed our cert plates for arc and gas.

I used to be a certified arc welder. Then I failed the Navy entrance physical (bad back) and decided to go to college instead (but that is a whole other thread). There isn't much call for welding in college so now I am an IT puke. I think I would rather be welding. ;)

I never had good luck with Miller equipment but others always had great success. Don't know why. Lincoln always ran for me without fail. Lincoln for anything arc, Victor or Smith for gas.

I have my eye on a new welding setup for both gas and arc but need to get the new shop built first. Wood working, reloading, etc. don't mix real well with welding.

Just what I need...another hobby.... :D

Lincoln makes great stuff. Esp the big 400 amp gas / diesel powered ARC machines.

I have access to just about every state of the art arc / tig welders there is. Problem is that at home, 3 phase 480 volt power is a little scarce :D Anything big I take to work and have a "professional" fix it.

My grandfather was a welder. He welded pipe for a living. I was always facinated by the process so as soon as I was old enough, I learned how to oxy/acet gas weld. My grandpa taught me and to this day it is one of my fondest memories of him.