Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tac optics div question

Nimitz

I'm still pretty new to 3-gun & was wondering what kind of optics solutions people go with in the Tac optics div where you can expect to engage both short & mid-long-range targets. I know in Open folks use a combo of red-dot & magnifier or red dot & scope since multiple optics are allowed but what does everyone do in tactical? thx

I'm still pretty new to 3-gun & was wondering what kind of optics solutions people go with in the Tac optics div where you can expect to engage both short & mid-long-range targets. I know in Open folks use a combo of red-dot & magnifier or red dot & scope since multiple optics are allowed but what does everyone do in tactical? thx

A good low power variable like the Swarovski Z6i 1-6x scope is the best in both open and tactical in my opinion. There are also a lot of other good choices. I run the same rifle in both open and tac optics. I just remove the bi pod and cover the side red dot when shooting tac optics. Truth be told I seldom use the red dot unless its a stage where the targets are very close (less than 10 yards) and I have to shoot them on the move. I have found that 1x on the scope is better if your stationary because of the larger field of view.

In this stage below I was debating using my off set red dot but decided to use the 1x setting on my scope and it turned out to be easy this way.

Now on this stage the off set red dot helped a bit. (I shot the stage both ways.)

With red dot

(tac optics with scope on 1x)

The point is 1x on a good scope is good enough. You don't need off set irons. You also really don't need magnification greater than 4 or 6x in 99% of matches out there.