Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

It's Time To Get Serious or Give It Up

clintv

I've been meaning to do this for some time, I have just put it off long enough. I need the accountability, even if no one reads these posts, to keep me on task.

I started shooting USPSA about 4 years ago. For the first 2 years I just showed up at the local match occasionally and did my best, I was not improving that much and that made attending matches more difficult for me. Last year 2011, I finally decided to get more serious about practical shooting. I first bought a Dillon 550 press to make the ammo situation more economical. I got lots of help in learning reloading from several guys at my local club. They also encouraged me to challenge myself more in my shooting. I finally ditched the Fobus paddle holster and mag pouch and bought a Safariland competition belt and a Ready Tatical DOH Holster and Mag Pouches. I signed up for my first major match, Area 6.

What I realized when I got to Frostproof, FL was that I was used to the level of difficulty in the stage designs due to shooting at South River, Cherokee and Cool Springs matches in Georgia. What was different was the level of the competition I encountered. I was used to finishing in the bottom half of the field, but not the bottom 10%. I was humbled to say the least. I did have fun though and that is why we do this right?

I signed up for a Front Sight Training class in Pahrump, NV with a friend of mine not to help with my practical shooting but just to get some hands on training. What I found was that while this training wasn't designed for competition shooting it did teach me a great deal about accuracy and about staying on the front sight through out the trigger pull and reset.