Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Taper Crimp Die...

Mrdwayne0405

Ok, so I have a 3 die set for .40 S&W. Do I need a taper crimp die? I just shot my first match with my reloads that I loaded last week. My accuracy was not as good as I would like. Is this because I need a taper crimp die? I have played a little more with my powder amount and have improved it a good bit, but was told I may want to get one of those dies...

If you shoot lead or especially coated bullets like Precision or Bayou, it's a good idea and recommended by the bulet mfgrs. When I started shooting Precisions, I got one, and it's one of the better things I've done for my reloading. It let me tweak my crimp to fix a feeding problem I had with my 1911s. YEMV, but it works for me.

Ok, so I have a 3 die set for .40 S&W. Do I need a taper crimp die? I just shot my first match with my reloads that I loaded last week. My accuracy was not as good as I would like. Is this because I need a taper crimp die? I have played a little more with my powder amount and have improved it a good bit, but was told I may want to get one of those dies...

The answer may depend on whose dies you own. I started out with Hornady dies a couple of years ago and discovered that their seater die design only allowed for a roll crimp, even on semi-auto cartridges that should get a taper crimp. They claimed that if you adjusted it JUST RIGHT you could get a good taper crimp out of it. In my experience that's BS. I bought a Lee FCD and all my problems went away. Hornady has since come out with new die sets that supposedly taper crimp in the seater die but I've never used them.