Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Going to My First Regional Match

StevieD

Although I've been shooting IDPA for about 12 - 13 years, I've never been to a "big" match. So I signed up for the Tri-State Regional in September and I'm wondering, just what happens at a regional match?

Locally we don't chrono bullets, check mags, weigh and size guns, etc. It's pretty laid back and we all have fun.

What exactly can I expect at a match the size of the Tri-State and is there anything that's a very common error for newbies that I should be aware of? Any additional "big match" advice would also be appreciated.

The Tri-State is a well run match with challenging courses of fire. They do open squadding, shotgun start so it tends to balance out pretty good. I don't recall equipment checks or chrono but you never know so have your gear in order.

For your first big match don't let it overwhelm you, shoot at your own skill level - speed, have a solid mentally rehearsed plan for each stage when its your turn to shoot.

Oh and have fun!

Great advice from Greg. I would also say to try to go with no expectations. Different clubs usually have different styles with regard to stage design, etc. So you will probably see things in the COF you've never seen before. Some clubs are also more relaxed on some aspects of the rules, especially during a "club" match, not so at a major. Make sure you're familiar with your rulebook. Most of all, enjoy it and have fun. Tri-State is a great match.

Stevie,

I'm one of the locals who helps Larry, our phenomenal Area Coordinator and Match Director, set this thing up. I will actually be shooting with the rest of the public this year instead of running one of the stages, but let's just say that I'm somewhat familiar with the Tri-State match.