Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger Question

Tizzo

Hey Guys,

This is my first year shooting competitively, I dry fire practice when I can and try to hit the range to live fire once a week. Last night while shooting a match I found myself not letting the trigger fully reset and obviously this led to me pulling the trigger and no bang. This happened 3 times, and each time I realized what had happened and didn't have to waste time doing a tap/rack.

I find it odd that this is happening now and not any sooner. Any ideas on how to fix this "problem"?

Relax and slow down.... sounds like your trying to get that second shot off so fast that your carrying to much tension and that's not allowing you to extend enough for the trigger to reset. You said you recognized what had happeded each time, so think back and focus on how you felt at those moments... were you tense, worried you needed to make up some time? Think back and I bet you can answer your own question.

Relax and slow down.... sounds like your trying to get that second shot off so fast that your carrying to much tension and that's not allowing you to extend enough for the trigger to reset. You said you recognized what had happeded each time, so think back and focus on how you felt at those moments... were you tense, worried you needed to make up some time? Think back and I bet you can answer your own question.

That's the thing about it, I actually felt like I was in a groove, not rushing. I broke my first shot, waited for my sight picture to return and then... squishy trigger; "crap I need to let the trigger reset". But what was also odd was that I had that thought, but still didn't rush to break the second shot. I felt calm and everything seemed clear in the instances that these trigger issues occurred, very unlike times when, for example, I shoot to slide lock on accident or forget to reload, and get all flustered.