Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slumdog Grandmaster

DonovanM

I'm a brokeass college student who loves shooting. The two do not go well together. So in order to succeed, I have to become as good as possible shooting as little ammo as possible. Right now, I don't shoot any ammo outside of matches, but dry fire more often than a Muslim prays.

Here's where I am. I've been shooting pistols for a year and a half and competitively for 7 months. I need two or three more 75%+ scores to make it to A class. I shot my best classifier a couple weeks ago, at 81%, and when I put it all together and don't make any mental errors, I do alright on field courses.

At my last match I finished outside of the top 10 due to nuking 3 field courses, but I won a stage (!) and got 2nd on another. The stage I won we were seated engaging 5 targets 25-30 yards away. I beat out a GM, 2 M's and a couple A's, and some unclassified guy who was on some reality show a while back, and that makes me happy. The stage I got 2nd on (to said GM) was a full blown field course, and I only did so well on it due to having a good plan, seeing targets available where I don't think anyone else looked. I nuked the rest of the stages, due to various errors, other than the classifier at 5th place. I also won a smaller local match a month or so ago, but only because we shot Merle's Standards :)

Strengths:

Long range accuracy at speed (although, I have never seen the sights lift...)

Trigger control/follow-through

Draw

Reload

Malfunction clearing (ask me how I know...)

Hit and miss:

Calling shots

Stage planning

Scaling (ie, shooting speed related to size of scoring area and distance away)

Visual patience (letting my vision dictate the speed I shoot)

Weaknesses:

Index refinement

Medium and close range fast accuracy (too many C's and D's... and M's...)

Movement

Shooting on the move

Strong/weak hand only