Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

5.56mm (223 rem) Heavy or light bullet?

Norwegian Viking

I have a Steyr AUG with a 20" barrel , the barrel twist is 1:9 ,what should i use to improve accuracy?

I have used factory loads up untill now (American eagle 55gr and UMC 55gr) , and these have had deesent accuracy.

But i hear from a friend that i should use heavyer bullets for the 1:9 barrel twist , anyone have any experience on this they would like to share? :)

I have zero experience with a Steyr, but imagine, it’s gotta be close (balistically speaking) to a 20” AR barrel. With a 1:9 twist, you can use anything from 55’s up to 69’s and get good solid accuracy. Now, that’s based on an AR barrel, that’s say button rifled with 6 grooves. This may be different in your case and results may vary. When in doubt, try Black Hills.

Hope that helps.

First question is what do you mean by decent accuracy? If you're getting MOA or better (1" at 100yds) it will probably be tough to improve.

What kind of shooting do you do? Up close tactical or long range varmint/target shooting?

Also, twist rate generally sets a maximum weight. Any bullet lighter than that maximum should work fine (there are some special cases that are exemptions)

Changing bullet weight won't neccesarily make the gun more accurate.

You MAY find a factory load that is heavier that your rifle likes better than your current ammo, you may not.

What a heavier bullet will get you is better resistance to wind, and will retain energy better for longer shots.

You might experience more recoil with a heavier bullet.

I have been trying various bullet weight from 52 to 75 for my 1 in 9 twist AR. I found that the 60 grain bullets are by far the best (I was using the Hornady 60 grn V-Max). When I called Bushmaster, they said the optimium weight for the 1 in 9 is 62-63 grains.