Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

long-gunning on the move

ErikW

When I first started 3 gunning I tried shooting on the move and paid a heavy price. I learned it's a whole different animal than pistol shooting, which is isolated out at the end of your shock-absorbing arms. The long gun, OTOH, rests against your shoulder and cheek, a moves around a whole lot more. Bennie Cooley said something about it at his class, IIRC, but I don't remember exactly what. (I'm a poor student.)

At the recent SMM3G, I witnessed a lot of successful shotgunning on the move. I even did some myself. I seem to keep the butt against my arm, not in my shoulder pocket when I do this. It also seems I hold it very loosely, more out and away from my body, face barely touching, until just before taking the shot.

My general idea with the SG is to get planted and shoot from a stable position, then reload while walking. But I've encountered a few courses that demand shooting on the move; you will clearly be seconds behind if you don't.

So, what are your thoughts on shooting the long guns while moving? Is rifle any different from shotgun?