Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Fitting a Glock aftermarket barrel

Mx Central

Hi all . I need to know what's involved in fitting an aftermarket barrel like a Barsto into a Glock.I am a machinist by trade and have access to a mill and lathe and can use files.I just can't seem to find any detailed instructions.Thanks guys!!!

Hi all . I need to know what's involved in fitting an aftermarket barrel like a Barsto into a Glock.I am a machinist by trade and have access to a mill and lathe and can use files.I just can't seem to find any detailed instructions.Thanks guys!!!

Because they are all a little different. Wilson is just file back the hood. Bar-Sto is the hood length and the lug. Briley is the hood length, width, lug and ramp. IMHO, files are the way to go. Instructions and the places to cut/file come in the packages with the barrels. Each Glock is different enough that you won't always cut the barrel the same, thus the files and hand fitting.

Because they are all a little different. Wilson is just file back the hood. Bar-Sto is the hood length and the lug. Briley is the hood length, width, lug and ramp. IMHO, files are the way to go. Instructions and the places to cut/file come in the packages with the barrels. Each Glock is different enough that you won't always cut the barrel the same, thus the files and hand fitting.

Just to through it out there, if you get a KKM Match Gunsmith barrel, you will need to ream the chamber/throat. The drop in model will be just fine. Apparently the Gunsmith barrel is a little "short" due to the slide differences between factory Glock and aftermarket slides.

I have not installed a Barsto on a Glock buy my experience with SIGs has been fitting of the barrel hood (hand file/stone is fine) and occasionally the lug area (file/stone)