Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

new xd-40 Tactical

Paul-the new guy

I just bought a XD-40 Tac at the local fun show.... I have not even picked it up (5 day wait) and I am having a little buyers remorse. I have been shooting in USPSA and IDPA for 4 months using glocks. I started with a 23 then traded for a 22 and added a 17. I am not awesome but feel like I am better than my Glocks allow me to be. From a rest at 15 yards the glocks seem to produce 3.5" + groups I am not happy with that. I had a Sig P-220 that would easily do a 1.5 inch group. Any way, I bought the XD hoping for a more accurate gun but the more I am reading the more I am thinking that my not in fact be the case??? I have had the triggers done on the glocks and added fiber optic front sights. I shoot about 600 rounds per month between matches and practice and feel like i have plateaued with the Glocks. Is the XD a better shooter?

depends on you.....some like the more 1911ish grip angle of the XD...some complain that the XD has too high a bore axis

you should borrow or rent one first to see if you like it....a 3rd great option is the M&P

I personally prefer the XDM9 for production class

the real question is why did you get an XD in 40? if shooting "Production" the 9mm would have been advantageous for recoil control...if shooting "Limited" the XDM would be advantageous capacity-wise. Limited-10 is the only division I can see to run an XD40

yeah, i guess i can add that to the mounting number of reasons i should not have purchased it. I shoot limited in uspsa and i like to shoot .40 so I can score major the magazine capicity wont be a big help in that. I shoot 9mm in IDPA for the recoil advantage since there is no power factor. Maybe it will just be a safe queen... it was kind of an impulse buy, i had a disapointing USPSA match yesterday. There were some long shots and i shoot poorly with the Glock 22. I was looking for an aftermarket barrel and ended up with a gun...

Edited by Paul-the new guy