Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Take the extra shot?

cali shot doc

I'm new to Competitive shooting and was wondering if in some cases if I should take an extra shot at a paper target? For instance if the paper target is somewhat covered by a black paper target. I don't have a real good idea of where my shots are exactly hitting so should I take the extra shot just incase my second shot was a mike? or if i hit a no shoot and don't realize it.

I have a match this sunday and was thinking i should try maybe taking an extra shot at the harder paper targets to make sure i get my points. I'm still new so it's hard to slow down and see whats happening. Once the buzzer goes off my game plan leaves my mind and it's like chaos lol.....safe chaos.

was wondering if this is a good idea or if anyone has a suggestion of what else to do other then just slowing down and gaining knowledge. I know the more i shoot the more the game will slow down for me. I've played a lot of sports and once i get a routine and get comfortable then it just slows down for me......

thanks

It's not slowing down, you should shoot at the speed you can call your shots.

>> I don't have a real good idea of where my shots are exactly hitting <<

Trying to rush now, faster than you can really shoot, will probably just hurt you in the long run.

Don't try to keep up with the Master and GMs at Richmond or the Open guys.. shoot your speed.

Sounds like you might just need more range practice, so you can get the confidence to call the shoot.

If when you're shooting a stage, you can't call a shot, that may be the time to re-engage it.

Just my .02

not necesarily will slowing down help you call shots,

you might just shoot slower and still cant call your shots, if this is so,

you are probably blinking when you fire each shot. and I dont have a magic pill.

but I do remember a discussion on this topic, I will do a little searchin.