Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

LNL AP... To case feed or not to case feed?

Hello all! This forum has been a huge resource to me and and I'd like to ask a question to those of you who have a Hornady LNL AP with the case feeder. I reload and a few hundred rounds a month in pistol calibers, and am wondering if spending 300+ on a case feeder is worth it. I'm not a professional reloader and I'm not someone who shoots 1000+ rounds a month in competition and practice. One aspect of the case feeder that appeals to me is that it eliminates one of the operations that I have to perform. Meaning I can stay focused on bullet placement and powder volume.

On a different note, I've been VERY impressed with my new LNL AP press. It took a while to remove all the manufacturing and protective oil, and to get it set up, but once I did, it's made reloading much much faster! Coming from a single stage press, it's amazing how fast things happen, and how many things happen at the same time.

I have a LnL AP, I dont have the casefeeder, but wish I had one. Heck, I'd like a Mr. Bulletfeeder also.. :roflol: I like shooting more than reloading. I dont shoot thousands per month, but I'd like to shorten the time spent reloading.

I have one and love it. I had my press up and running for a year and half before I got the case feeder and I tell people I waited two years too long to get it!

I will say this though... If you only load a couple hundred rounds a month, I'd think long and hard on the $300.00 bucks. Before I got mine I had it pretty much down to a science. My left hand knew exactly where to be and what to be doing when the right was moving the press handle up or down. As I was raising the handle the left hand was picking up a piece of brass and sliding it in then grabbing a bullet to seat as the press indexed around. As the handle started to go down that bullet was either already sitting in the case or shortly after and the left hand was going for another piece of brass.