Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm/glock 34 load data - overload

INGOglock34

First I want to thank everyone for putting so much good information out here. I think I have read so much tonight that I have confused myself in what I want to do as a I work on a 9mm load for my Glock 34. I have been loading for 6-12 months and everything so far has been 115fmj and now need to order more bullets. I have been thinking about going to something heavier like 124FMJ but seeing alot of information about 147 grain bullets also. Also seeing some people liking 124JHP over the FMJ. I think I can work out a powder load if I am starting with the right weight bullet. I am just wanting to make a nice accurate load that I have confidence in. I am mostly shooting steel matches but would like to try some other types of local matches. Should I try the 124FMJ as being a good middle of the road weigh or go for the 147fmj? Do the hollow point bullets provide more accuracy? I am also thinking to order from Precesion Delta or Montana Gold. Seem like in 147FMJ both compare to be about the same and more people prefer MG for anything lighter than 147. Once I order something and get a load worked out I will share whatever worked out for me.

Edited by INGOglock34

I cannot tell any accuracy difference between Montana Gold and Precision Delta. The Montana Gold are more consistent in their size. My last 2000 PD 124gr FMJ contained a variety of bullets with snubbie noses and pointy noses. They loaded fine but if you measured the OAL from the tip of the bullet there was a variance. The PD shot fine even with this problem. I have not decided if I care enough to pay more for Montana Gold or even more for Zero bullets. All are fine bullets. You need to find what works in your gun and you like. The same applies to weight. You need to try them and decide if you and your gun like 124/125gr or 147gr.