Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sight Acquisition Questions

rwmagnus

I am new to IDPA with a background of Bullseyse competition. Having said that, I am deep into the data gathering of this shoot and move or engage multiple targets in a nano-second, LOL. I shoot CPD division and have about 3 months experience in IDPA. My first qualifier is this Saturday.

BTW yes I have Brian’s Book and Matt’s videos.

So here's my question. At what yardage do you go from a Type 2 sighting (looking thru the sights to the target) to Type 3 (focusing from targets to sights back)?

I'm still having a hard time shooting faster. Accuracy isn't a problem but speed is. I basically need improvement in all areas but fundamentally understanding how to acquire the target faster and getting the shot off would be nice.

Not sure I've articulated the problem well. IMO I get too hung up on focusing on the front sight which slows my target acquisition (is that possible?). Then I seem to transition from target to front sight seeking perfection rather than just anything in the -0 circle. I see guys logging 5-8 seconds for double taps in 4 targets at 5yds and I'm in the 11 second range, (ouch). In Bullseye we had forever and a day to get everything just right before letting go the shot. I seem to get stuck in a Type 4 focus (stay with the front sight until it lifts) quite abit

Thanks in advance for any help. I've read alot of good info here and it has helped. Don't get me wrong for a newbie in IDPA I'm making some fast progress.

I recently took an IDPA shooting course with Steve Broom. He suggested that inside of 10 yards you look at the target (specific spot you want to hit) and see your gun in your perpherial vision. Outide of 10 yards focus on your front sight. I've been doing this and it works for me.