Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Question about COL

Wanted

I know this has been asked, but I'm having a hard time finding it,in search. I have manuals, an older Hodgdon for example that don't list a COL for loads. Can you help me with understanding this concept?

1. If no info is given, how do you determine COL? W/o being dangerous?

2. Is there a formula for determining COL. Such as when you reduce a load 10% to get a start point?

3. I know to use my barrel to do a drop test (in leu of a case gauge) is there other equations or factors to look at? Thank you everyone for helping me to learn to think for myself.

The Hodgdon's web site does list the suggest COL for their loads:

http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

I hesitate to tell how I arrive at my OAL, as I am fairly new at this, too. In addition to chamber checking, you should also check to make sure that the rounds insert and feed well in/from your magazines.

My process is to load them as long as I can, while ensuring that they function properly. This is different for every gun. I like to maximize the case capacity if possible. I have found that longer ammo (so long as it isn't hitting the rifling) feeds more reliably.

Beware of any load data that doesn't include COAL. Pressure = force / area

Edited by twodownzero

Lots of sources for recipes fail to provide OAL. Spec for a 9mm is 1.169". I start just under this and test dummy rounds in the barrel to see if they drop in/out easily, and twist around. Then feed some from the mag to ensure they chamber fully. If so, load up some live rounds and test with a chrono. You can then compare your velocity to specs (which often do give velocity.) If you decide to go shorter, do so in very small increments and check the case on each fired round for signs of excess pressure.