Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9x23 Advise

riden

May have an opportunity to buy a nice used Caspian open gun and several mags. The gun is currently chambered for 9x23.

I've performed a search and have read some previous posts, but want to gather some additional information. I currently shoot 38 Super Auto in another gun and have read where 9x23 should run either 38 Super or Super Comp okay.

What is there to question or consider further (like needing another extractor, etc.) before buying, if I want to shoot Super in the gun?

Thanks!

Riden,

I am NO EXPERT, but this is what I believe to be true. The 9x23 will chamber and fire the .38 Super with no problem........usually. You might have to change out the extractor, but that is iffy, and basically you need to fire the pistol and see if it extracts O.K. Many use the Aftec extractor and love it for this purpose.

One CAUTION. The web and rim area are SUPER STRONG on the 9x23 brass............. many say the strongest of all semi-auto cartridge cases. Many feel that if the 9x23 is so powerful, that they can load up hot .38 Supers and not have to worry with a gun designed for 9x23. Such is NOT THE CASE. The 9x23 web does not need the kind of support that a hot .38 Super does. The .38 Super case is NOT super strong, and if you are going HOT, you need a supported chamber. The 9x23 case does not need the support because the web is so strong.

As I said, I am NO EXPERT on this cartridge, so BE SURE TO CONSULT A GOOD GUNSMITH who KNOWS about 9x23 BEFORE taking any chances.