Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

223 Reloading Problems - New - Please Help!

Adam Larsen

OK - I am totally new to loading, but have sucessfully loaded several hundred rounds of .45 ACP. I am loading with a new Dillon 550, with Dillon dies. I have the .45 dies setup on a dedicated toolhead with a dedicated power measurer. I have the same setup for .223 rem. I attempted to load .223 last night but ran into some problems and cannot figure it out. I setup the dies to the "T" how the dillon video says to. The problem that I am having is the bullet is dropping into the casing during the seating stage (stage #3). This is happening in about 1 out of every 3-5 rounds. I am seating them to an overall length of 2.258, or at least attempting to! The bullets were bought through Georgia Arms and are .224 dia. 55gr FMJ - but not sure of original manuf. I have measured factory ammo that I pulled apart to see if there is any difference, but have not found any. The internal mouth and external mouth measurements are the same. The bullet dia is the same. I am at a loss and so inexperienced I am not sure what to look for. Thanks for any help on this.

I'm not familiar with Dillon dies, but I would say that either it is adjusted wrong or the die was not manufactured correctly.

1: What is the ID of your case mouth after sizing?

2: are some of the bullets undersized?

3: how many times has the brass been recycled?

I'm not familiar with Dillon dies, but I would say that either it is adjusted wrong or the die was not manufactured correctly.

1. Not sure of the I.D. of the mouth. I will have to measure one tonight.

2. All of the bullets are measuring .224

3. These are all once fired (by me) factory federal brass

This should be easy to catch..

Before you do anything to the brass.. does it fall through?

After you size.. does it fall through?

At what step does the bullet fall through?