Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What Do You Think Is The "best" Big 3 Gun Match?

Mystery Mountain is alot of fun. Great stage design - multi-gun stages. B)

Great Prize table.

RM3G at Raton: A close second. The Whittington center is the best place for a 3gun match. The guy's there know what makes for a fun match and they use open terrain - more fun for run and gun. :D

I've shot the MGM Ironman and the ITRC, there is no shotgun in the ITRC. The Ironman is just wild and totally fun with round counts on a single stage that would probably come close to dwarfing other matches. I recommend it highly.

As for the ITRC, it definitely rocks, but is not traditional 3 gun.

The other matches I have no personal experience with. When I hit the Lotto and retire, I'll put together a comprehensive comparison. :)

I agree with Benny that the RM3Gun takes it hands down because of the quality of course design and the available terrain. IMG scoring, 8 stages, 350+ rounds in 2 days (8am-5pm fri & sat), team shoot & awards on sun, $200 + travel $ (Raton in NE New Mexico). Five Stars for good stage design and high challenge factor, not to mention a great match staff too! Prize table.

*Caveat, I have not been to the SMM 3gun so I can not rate it, but I am going to fix that next year. Same goes for Kyle's match in NC as soon as I can figure out a rationale for driving that far.

The MGM Iron Man will give you more trigger time than you can stand. Stage design takes a back seat to sheer round count here. Most stages involve all three weapons, some need more! IMG scoring, 10 stages, 1000+ rounds in 2 days (8am to almost 9pm on fri & sat), results on sun, $100 + travel $ (Near Boise, Idaho). BTW, ammo costs are large for this match, I took 1700 rounds with me, used 1200ish. Five Stars because there is nothing else like it. Prize table