Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Remington R 15 vs DPMS

IndianaSlim

First off I'd like to say hi to everyone, just got reccommended to this sight and the information is overwhelming! I'm somewhat new to AR's (DPMS and S&W, both mostly stock) in general and am finding this sight extremely helpful. Anyway, to the point.

My dad recently asked me about the Remington R 15, a rifle I'm unfortunately unfamiliar with. Long story short he read an article that suggested that they chamber the R 15 in .204. The man has a slight (read major) obsession with this caliber. While it's a fun, flat shooting, low recoiling, coyote dispatching son of a gun I find the .223 MUCH CHEAPER TO SHOOT! I know I'm not going to convince him of buying a .223 so that arguement is absolutely out of the question. Upon further investigation, I found that DPMS offers an AR framed rifle in .204 as well. Does anyone else that you know of make an ar framed .204? If so which one do I steer him toward? I love my dpms, but is the remington better? Is there another one out there that blows both of them away? Cost is an issue though not a big one. This gun is probably going to spend its life in a tractor, a combine or behind the seat of a truck with the sole duty of dispatching varmits. For that reason I don't think a $3000 custom is in order if you know what I mean. It will probably end up with a variable power scope of some sort as his eyes aren't as good as in years past. It won't get cleaned often enough and will get dirty, but it will have to get the job done or he will pawn it off on me (fake frown).

Anyway, let me know what you guys think!

By the way the DPMS i built on their website and the remington were priced almost exactly the same.

It is my understanding that Bushmaster makes the R15 for Remington, and DPMS makes the R25 (308 rifle). Note, all companies owned by the same parent, who also owns Chrysler. :surprise: