Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What the...?

Mark Bellon

Last week I was shooting the centers out of targets at 7 and 10 yards. This week I lucky if I can hit anywhere near the center of the target.

Often I can see my problem and correct it. I didn't see anything wrong at the range. My 9 mm is better than the .45. The .45 is way off. I'm sudden shooting very nice groups that are 3 inches low and 1 inch to the right.

In the last two weeks I've been working up a 9 mm load (I'm new to reloading), started using Slide Glide consistently, doing a lot of holster dryfire drills (for the first time really) and I'm getting used to a new pair of glasses. The glasses don't seem to be an issue since I did fine last week.

I also do some grip strength work with GripMasters and in the last few weeks I started switching from the 9 pound to the 11 pound.

I was making great progress and then this started. Has this happened to others? I know (temporary) setbacks in training are "normal" but this one really surprised me.

Got to figure out what's wrong and fix it,

mark

Look at all the "variables" you just changed.........pretty much all at once, too.

New glasses

More dryfiring

Doing a harder grip thingy

Maybe switching back and forth between guns (9 and 45?)

Taken individually, not a big deal. All those changes at once could multiply.

Give it a week, don't overanalyze ("analysis paralysis") and then what settles down/shakes out.

Three inches low/one right at 7 yds? That's huge......consider equipment problems.

Three inches low/one right at 50 yds? Not a big deal.

FY42385

I recommend drowning in brass at the range. Do more live fire than dry fire for a while, until you work these issues out. Live fire is where you find issues in your techniques, figure out corrections, and then go home and ingrain the fix with dryfire. Right now you're doing something bad, and dryfire will just make it that much more of a habit.