Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Starting a business(need info)

I have been toying with the idea of starting a catering business for some time now, and with my recent job loss now may be the time. I have cooked all my life and have catered several of the Area 6 matches. So I think I could do it for a living. The problem I have is I don't have any idea where to get any info on the legal requirements for food service. I know there are several government entities that regulate this activity. So if anyone has any ideas on where I need to look to get this information, I would appreciate it greatly.

Also where would I look to find out the laws regarding shipment. ie internet orders or mail order.

Thanks in advance

Tony

If you are going to be selling prepared foods, you might need to comply with the Food Drug and Cosmetic Act's labeling requirements. Your best bet would probably to find an attorney in your area who has represented similar companies in the past. You can always go to other caterers in your area or other companies who prepare and sell food who their attorney is.

Locally, the city health department-the same one that inspects restaurants-is responsible for making sure that food safety rules are followed. Perhaps your city/county health inspector could help, as a kitchen set up for catering locally has to follow essentially the same rules as a restaurant. That might even include not doing it at home, due to zoning ordinances for business vs. residential. My wife sells restaurant/catering equipment (in this area only, so no sales pitch) and I bet I can get a question answered for you if you have a couple.

This is what I do for a living here in Dallas. If you want to pick my brain, send some specific questions and i'll be more than happy to answer them.

1. Have a "hook" what do you do better then anyone else in your area?

2. Get liability insurance, especially if you own property.