Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shadow Divers

mpeltier

I am a retired SCUBA instructor and accomplished wreck diver so when I picked up this book I did not have high hopes as I thought the book would be diluted with BS. At the time this was unfolding I worked in a New England Dive shop and we heard stories about this discovery as it was in our back yard. I found the book very accurate in its detail about the diving so for me that adds to the credibility of the story in general. Finding a previously undiscovered German U-Boat off shore of the united states is an incredible once in a lifetime opportunity. These guys risked (and some lost) their lives to unfold a piece of WWII history. The Author did a great job of presenting the story in an interesting and easy to visulize fasion. Many people do not realize how big a threat the german U-Boats were to our Eastern seaboard. After reading the book I thought it ironic that such a fearsome killing machine from WWII is still deadly. I recomend it.

I loved this book. I know nothing of diving but found it fasinating. The WWII history was great and the mystery of the boat's identity was very engaging. The diving accounts were absolutely incredible. I wasn't aware of the proximity to the coast that the U-boats achieved. I actually learned from reading the book that there is a U-boat sunk off Block Island, not far from where I grew up in RI at all.

Did you note from the book that one of the main diver's wife was a pro shooter? I can't remember her name but I had l researched her name at the time and found her to be on the Les Baer ladies team that is always pictured in his magazine ads.

Yes I certainly did notice. Her name is Kathy Chatterton, wife of John Chatterton. She has a list of records and titles in competitive shooting as long as my shirt sleeve. Still on les Baers website also.

John is quite a guy also, his bio in the book on his tour in Vietnam as a medic was very stirring and vivid.