Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Winchester vs Zero

Cruiser

I need some education and recommendation on bullet type and weight.

I am new to reloading and looking for advice on 9mm round for a Glock 17 & 19.

I have narrowed my bullet selection down to a 115 gr. and 125gr. in Winchester FMJ and JHP and Zero FMJ and JHP. I currently do not compete and all my shooting is done at paper targets in an indoor range.

I am looking for the cheapest round to shoot (so I can shoot more of them) which leads me to a Winchester 115 gr FMJ.

My 2 questions are this:

1. What do I gain going to a more expensive JHP, or a heavier 124 gr. in the Winchester

2. Although the cost is higher, is their any advantage to me using Zero bullets over Winchester in either the FMJ/JHP or 115/124.

As an after thought, is FMJ or JHP easier to reload for the beginner?

THANKS!

For paper target plinking I use the Zero 9mm 115 gr FMJ bullet, purchased from Angus. A lot of suppliers are out of stock depending on what bullet you decide you want. I also use Zero bullets in my USPSA Open gun, very good quality.

First off, welcome!

Second, you may want to explore prices a bit more. For example, right now Powder Valley lists 115gr JHPs from Win and Zero, with the Zeros being cheaper ($63 per K when you buy 3K) than Win ($73 per K when you buy two K...no 3K option). PV is out of the 115JHPs (talked with them today, but they have been getting a lot of shipments in from the sounds of things), but even in the other weights and styles, the prices are at most a couple of dollars difference between the two.

If you're shooting indoors, JHPs or TMJs are better because they don't have an exposed lead base. Most of the lead that gets into your system comes from the primer detonation rather than the hot gas melting lead off the exposed base of an FMJ, but still, there's no need to add any additional lead into the air when you're shooting if you can avoid it.