Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Proper sight picture for for IPDA/IPSC?

lugnut

I've been shooting for a couple years and it seems the more I shoot in this sport and try to improve the more there is to figure out. I shoot mostly stock service pirtols and lately a M&P FS .40S&W. I've installed and love the Dawson FO sights.

However most of my guns require combat hold where a front dot (not the top of the blade) covers the intended POI. When I shoot my M&P with the FO dot over the intened POI the bullets go high- about an inch an a half or so at about 25ft. When I put the top of the front sight blade at the intended POI things are good. This is frustrating for me as when I go for head shots I need a different sight picture than I'm used to.

I had a very good shooter try it and he says it was fine since he uses the top of the front sight blade for accuracy shots.

What do you guys do? DP doesn't make adjustable (or lower) rear sights for the M&P. I hope this is in the correct section.

Edited by lugnut

If you dont wanna adjust your sight picture you need either a taller front sight or lower rear, no way around it. Many aftermarket sights that dont come in different sizes default to 9mm and tend to not hit POI with the .40. The .40 has a wide range of bullets, try some lightr or heavier bullets, you can get a couple inches up down variation with the different .40 bullets available.

Looks like a 10-8 rear sight is shorter than the Dawson rear... I'll order that and see if it makes things right. I have lots of 180gr bullets that I need to use up so trying lighter bullets isn't an appealing option.

I've been shooting for a couple years and it seems the more I shoot in this sport and try to improve the more there is to figure out. I shoot mostly stock service pirtols and lately a M&P FS .40S&W. I've installed and love the Dawson FO sights.