Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

first open gun

jostein jensen

First off, I'm a rookie shooter so the question might be stupid, but anyway.

I tried an open gun for the first time this weekend and loved it. The owner is thinking of selling it, and the rest could be history!

It was an Sti Stinger in .38 super. Its done 5k rounds, has had trigger tuning and a couple of popple holes by "bakern" in Norway. Is this a bad gun to start with in open? I've never shoot one before so I don't know the difference between this and a long one handling wise.

I own and shoot an Edge so the lightning fast slide and shock from the comp was almost frightning on the first shot, but when I saw how the dot stayed on the paper and how easy it was to aquire targets and fire fast good hits, I sort of fell in love with it.

The shock from the comp almost felt like a bitch-slap when I wasn't prepared for it. Does that meed I should look for a different gun, or is that simply a side-effect of popple holes? I toally loved the flatness of it and the fact that the recoil was straight back and forward. The dot was in the lens and on target between shots and it was simply magnificent.

The whole experience was.. well.. I don't know what to compare the tingeling feeling it made to. Maybe like the first time one falls inlove!

Darn.. I might have become an open addict :cheers:

Is it bad for mye shooting learning curve to ditch the steel sights after maybe 5k shots?

thanks in advance, Jostein.

Open guns are loud and concussive. Making the gun short (like the STInger) and adding holes to it just makes it more so. The shorter the barrel, and the more holes, generally the more powder it takes to make major - and therefore the more gas it makes, which contributes to the shock wave and the noise.