Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need some insight shooting production division

I'm new to shooting period let alone shooting in the USPSA.

I have some questions regarding shooting in the production division.

Since production is scored minor I think it's best to try to get as many alpha's as possible even if it means a 3rd shot at a target. I'm doing fairly well hitting the A zone and have to "make up" a shot here or there. My biggest downfall right now is speed at which I can complete a stage accurately.

I shot a local club match 2 weeks ago and shot a stage Mess Around - 33 rounds 165 points.

I scored 30 Alphas, 1 Bravo & 2 Charlies; my time was 57.27seconds. I did well scoring(hitting the targets - 159 points) but the stage points only totaled 54.4748. Needless to say although I shot the stage well I finished last.

This was only the 5th match that I have ever shot. There is so much mentally going on - SAFE GUN HANDLING, planning places to reload, remember where some targets are hidden, etc. that I'm a tad bit apprehensive about trying to attack the course "runnin & gunnin". I know my limitations and I'm not ready for that yet. I'm by no means discouraged. I'm having a great time shooting & reloading, have met a lot of great people and have decided that to get better I need to become a student of the game.

In contrast the shooter that won the stage shot 29 alpha's & 4 charlies in 18.67 seconds with a stage score of 165.

All that said when can I expect it all to come together- accuracy & speed?

I dry fire practice 2 nights a week for about an hour or so & weather permitting I shoot a practice at the club once a week. In practice last week I tried the hoser approach. I shot much faster but I didn't score well at all - mostly charlie delta's & mikes with a smattereing of alphas. When I finally get classified I'll probably start out as a D shooter, learning from the practice experience if I adopt the hoser approach I'll be a D shooter for some time.