Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie quandary... shoot Production or Limited 10?

Tungsten

By way of a brief overview... I'm new to USPSA but not new to shooting. Been doing that literally my entire adult life. Decided to get into competitive shooting as a way to have fun, be social with my fellow shooters and expand my horizons a bit from just shooting in a lane at the range.

Last weekend I shot my first ever USPSA match with my SW1911. Loved it. Gun worked wonderfully and far outperformed the shooter behind the trigger. Will continue participating in single stack class as often as I can. I don't reload (yet) so ammo expense will play a little bit of a part in how often I do that with the 45acp.

One of my other handguns is a Smith & Wesson M&P 40 caliber 4" service pistol. Nice gun, pretty heavy trigger that breaks like a half-inch stick of pine. Hard break! Needs a nice trigger job and have considered sending it off to Dan Burwell for such. BUT, I am having a bit of an argument with myself over my continued use of the .40SW for USPSA.

Would like to hear thoughts and words of advice from those of you here who have been there and done it.

My quandary is that I know if I keep shooting .40SW that I will be at a slight disadvantage in Production class events because most Production shooters use 9mm loaded light. Recoil is much more controllable and of course all guns are rated as Minor Power regardless of their true power rating. Again, I don't reload so producing bunny-fart loads for the .40SW is not something I can personally do. Furthermore I understand that some M&P 40's are having problems cycling with light loads.