Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ar Newb Question On Iron Sights

alzo

I have a flat top 16" AR from Bushmaster. While I have had it for a few years, I have hardly fired it (I'm a pistol guy). So I am very new to rifle shooting. Do most folks shoot at 100 yards with iron sights ? If so, what kind of groups should be expected at that range ?

The reason I ask is that when I first got the rifle, I tried it with the standard A2 sights. At 100 yards, my front sight obscured at least half, if not all of the 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper I was aiming at. That being the case, I couldn't see how I was to actually aim at the 2" x 2" "bull" I had on that paper. Even if the 2" x 2" square wasn't obscured, I don't know if I could see it from that far away.

I ended up putting a scope on the AR, but that always felt like cheating. I'd like to get to learn how to shoot it accurately with the iron sights. But I have no clue what's reasonable to expect as far as groups with iron sights at various distances. If just hitting that piece of paper consistently at 100 yards is just fine, I don't want to beat myself up for not shooting 2" groups.

Can any of you provide some guidance ? Thanks.

Edited by alzo

the size of the target should fit the size of your front post, even if it means using a larger target. you should still be able to fire decent groups, with a larger target. I tend to use a 5" target at 100, 8" at 200, and 12" at 300. they are the smallest targets I can reliably see over my post under most conditions.

that said, most of us who shoot irons in competition thin the post to at least .050, mine are .035ish, however i do occassionally bend them on accident. :lol: Thinning the post can be done easily with a drill press and a file or dremel. (Oh crap i used the "D" word) ;)