Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Indoor Range Training

DarthMuffin

Hi all. I've been lurking for a while and may have posted a reply or two, but I believe this is the first topic I've started. I just started shooting USPSA this year.

Partially because winter is about here, but mostly because there's nothing else nearby, I'm limited to practice in the local indoor range or dry-fire at home.

I'm looking for suggestions for exercises and drills to do at the indoor range, or dry-fire at home. I'm limited in what I can do in that the muzzle has to be pointed down range at all times (I can't draw from holster, but I can pick it up off of the shelf in front of me) and that I can only fire at the one target in my lane. Indoor range is 25 yards max.

I think I need to work on speed, especially target acqusition and switching between targets. The last few matches my scores have been pretty high, I'm just too slow. I would like to start learning how to shoot while moving too, but I realize that may be impossible given the restrictions, and that I probably need to get more of my basics down first.

Thanks for the help!

Tom.

During live fire, all you need to be doing is "Seeing" the front sight lift and come back to zero. Practice two shot sets to get used to it. Other than that, DRY FIRE, DRY FIRE, DRY FIRE.

You could try starting with the gun on the bench or table, instead of a draw, but this is best practiced at home dry firing first as well.

Work shot calling and moving your aim point around on the target-- I used to use the rifle-sight-in targets with four little targets and one big one at the indoor range I used to go to. Shoot one each on the little ones, call your shots and see how close you were. You can also start out indexing on somebody else's target, then snap over to yours to shoot.