Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Watching The Sights Rise

Bakes5

I need some tips on being able to watch my sights rise. Am I supposed to watch the front sight the entire time? Seems like when I fire, the sights rise but I keep looking straight ahead. Then when it falls back into place I reacquire the sight, adjust the picture and then fire the next shot.

Any tips. Best way to practice?

Thanks

Troy

Edited by Bakes5

yes... watch the sights. You don't have to use your whole head, just your eyeballs.

I don't know jack... I'm a noob who just learned how to see the sights lift, who is trying to unlearn 20,000 repetitions of old-school grip and stance... so take anything I say with a grain (or a ton) of salt. In fact, my experience may be the long and hard way to do it... but it worked for me so here goes. Here's what I did and continue to do:

Started slow.

Dry practiced at home... a lot. Watched my sights remain motionless as the trigger broke, dozens (hundreds?) of repetitions. Reminded myself to cam my support hand down firmly, and keep 70-30 grip tension. Then practiced tracking my sights across 2 or 3 targets in my practice area. I did this in my living room when the kids were not home. This was conscious-competence at first, but became automatic with repetition. Re-read sections 1 and 3 of Brian's book.

Livefire practice... kept it slow. Single-loaded my mags at first to resist the temptation to hose down my practice target. Fired shots (many), didn't see sights lift. Got frustrated. Reminded myself to cultivate awareness and focus, and to avoid concentration. Shot again, didn't see sights lift. Tried to relax, failed. Wasted a bunch of ammo. Went home, re-read sections 1 and 3 of Brian's book. Slept. Went back to the range the next day...