Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Kimber Cust Tac Ii Ftf Issues

DrKyle1

Ok, my background is with Glocks and I know little about the 1911 (just bought Kuhnhausen books to learn) I am shooting a Cust Tac II with chip McCormic mags and Wilson guts/followers in the mags. I have done nothing to the gun except polish the ramp area and chamber a bit. I am shooting 230gr RN plated Berry's pushed by 4.4 gr titegroup COL: 1.264 15lb recoil spring. I am getting some ftf - won't go fully into battery and I have to tap it in. I use dillon dies and crimp but not over crimp. It happens as soon as the gun gets dirty and gets progressively worse. I feel that I should be able to complete a match (6 stages 12-30 rounds each) w/o tearing it down between stages don't you? Is it the bullet profile and I need to go to SWC or something else or possibly the recoil spring is too light? The gun has less than 2000 rounds through. Prior to polishing the ramp & chamber bullets would hang on the ramp/barrel juncture or seem to hit the top of the chamber and get stuck. Any suggestions... other than go back to my glocks? Thanks in advance to all!

I will measure the crimp tonight after work, I have a chamber check on order and will add a lee factory crimp die to the order... I have it for my 9mm but not my 45 great ideas guys. As for factory loads... I will run some this week to double check and use multiple brands and bullet weights.

Check extractor tension as well. If you take off the slide and insert a round under the extractor and against the breachface, the round should stay put by itself but be able to be shaken out without a lot of effort. Not an exact method but has worked for me for many years of 1911s.

I don't like Dillon .45 ACP dies. I have a set in the box where they belong. I do like Titegroup and am doing some experimental loads as we speak with it. I still have some 452AA but when it is gone, it is gone forever.