Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best Way To Modify Kydex?

Navy87Guy

I recently picked up an older Blade-Tech holster for my CZ 97B. The front of the holster is solid, not "relieved" to provide for quicker clearance from the holster. It looks like it would be easy enough to cut a notch to make it match the front profile of a Stingray or DOH holster.

Here's my question: what's the easiest/best way to cut Kydex? Dremel tool? By hand? Using heat?

I've never tried it before but I don't want to screw up a usable holster by experimenting. If anyone has any experience, I'd appreciate your recommendations.

Thanks!

Jim

Heat - hot air gun or a hair dryer. Take your time, know what you want to do. I've modded several mag carriers from one type of gun to another with sucess. Just be patient.

I have dremeled on Kydex with the replaceble sandpaper cylinders .

This was just to smooth and contour stuff , might be a little slow for your use.

Staying in one place too long will heat the Kydex and make it stick to the sandpaper roll.

Kydex is cool stuff , heat it with a hairdryer and you can make " adjustments " , heat it with a torch ( be careful it scorches and burns easily ) and you can make radical changes .

When heated enough Kydex gets as easy to bend as rubber , hold it in place until it cools and it becomes just like it was , only in a different shape.

Travis F.

The Dremel metal 'spiral bit' (looks sorta like a drill they cut wrong or a high-helix mill-- a long spiral flute) is awesome on Kydex, eats through it like mad. Goes all sorts of places you don't want it to as well unless you are careful to control it.

The Dremel metal 'spiral bit' (looks sorta like a drill they cut wrong or a high-helix mill-- a long spiral flute) is awesome on Kydex, eats through it like mad. Goes all sorts of places you don't want it to as well unless you are careful to control it.

Like over your thumbs and fingers if it catches on the material. :blink: