Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Does The 650 Have A Problem

I load on 3 SDBs right now and am looking to eliminate running brass and loaded rounds through 2 separate steps just to use the "U" die (.40 only) and FCD.

Since I don't believe a progressive press is actually progressive without auto-indexing, I figured the 650 is the press to get.

Then......I notice how many folks here insist the powder check is one of the plusses of the 650....saving them from doublecharges and squibs.

I've been loading for 35 years with all kinds of presses and have never had a powder measure not drop powder. Never have I had one drop powder twice in the same case. I don't really want to take a step backwards with a press that has an unreliable powder system.

Please help me out. I want to place an order with Brian tonight and my plan right now is to get a reliable 550 with a casefeeder even though I can easily see how to doublecharge or squib a round in THAT press. I pay attention to what I'm doing so I'm not worried about it too much. I REALLY want a 650, but not if it's powder system is unreliable.

I'll be loading .40 and .45 with this press, probably keeping one of my SDBs for rarely used .38 Super & .38/.357. The .45 loading will dwindle when I get my wife shooting Limited (right now she's happy in L-10). I consider a caliber/primer change to be a non-issue on a SDB if that gives you a clue.

Brian and Flex make me think it's an operator error situation. What do you think?

The powder mechanism is identical between the 550, 650 & 1050, and IMO, nothing wrong with it. You can get conversions for SDB powder measures, which are also identical except for the mounting hardware.

Elsewhere Brian posted something about powder checks just the other day, so I'm in the 'don't need it' camp.