Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Par Time Course + Rookie Open Shooter = Bad Things

AustinMike

What a horrible morning I had. Took my "new to me" open gun out to my second IPSC match shooting open. I'm fairly new to competition shooting (started last summer) and got the open gun recently because I've had a number of people tell me it can help improvement by training you to present the gun consistently, etc.

Anyway, the first course of the morning today was a set of par timed strings. Two seconds to draw and fire at a paper target, then 4 seconds draw and shoot a popper, reload, shoot another popper, then 4 seconds to draw and shoot a six plate rack. At this point, I'm lucky to get a good draw and acquire the dot in 2 seconds, much less hit anything. :( Threw a Mike on paper, got one popper down, and didn't even get a shot on the plate rack. Couldn't find the dot under pressure and froze up solid, didn't even bother pulling trigger. I felt like such an idiot and would have crawled under a rock if I could.

My confidence was shattered after that and I was about to just bag and call it a day for shooting. The guys told me to go to the safe area and just practice draws for a while. Over there, without the pressure of the clock I could calmly draw and find the dot. So, I told myself to ignore the clock, just go have fun and do what I could. I got my hits and disregarded time completely. To remove all pressure, I didn't even look at my times, just the hits. No misses after that. The rest of the stages progressively felt better and I was glad I stuck it out. I doubt I did very well in the overall results, but at least I was able to bring back the enjoyment of an afternoon of shooting.