Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Saiga

Loves2Shoot

L2S,

I shoot a 20ga 1100 and love it. They are lighter, recoil much less, and I shoot them faster.

The downside is that you usually have to shoot 1 choke tighter than a comparable 12ga to have the same shot density so you suffer with a smaller pattern. I shoot open and have a holosight on my shotgun so being slightly more careful on the sight picture is not a problem. Before getting this gun, I shot a 12ga Benelli Practical and a shorter 12ga Benelli along with a 12 ga 1100. After the first match with the 20, it was not even a question which one I would shoot in the future.

I am not a range lawyer but hear grumbling that they might change the rules as they pertain to 20 ga. I would certainly investigate that before making a purchase. Also check with the other ruling bodies that hold matches you might want to attend and see how they feel about the 20 too. For what I know, they might legislate the 20 out of 3-gun.

If they are NOT an advantage (as most of the 12ga people claim) I do not see why anyone would need to outlaw them. I personally feel that they are more fun to shoot and I shoot them faster ... and think of the poor Juniors (the future of our sport!) ... they need the opportunity to compete! ;)

Leo

Edited by L9X25

Thanks! I was pondering that this morning with the way the rules change all the time. The 10 vs 8 rounds seems like it might be a bigger deal than in a pistol depending on how long it takes to change a mag. If I went with the 20 my gut tells me they might ban it or make it minor somehow ;) I like the idea of cheap and mags and maybe even a Kobra sight (I had one once and they are cool.)