Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Optimal "zero" Yardage For Uspsa And Idpa?

shoredog

I am new to competition shooting. My handgun (1911 in .45) will be used for USPSA and IDPA. What is the optimal yardage to zero the sights (adjustable target type rear and fiber optic front) for competition in USPSA and IDPA? I assume the same zero yardage will be apprpriate for both?

I like 15 yards for 40. With my 180 loads it is about an inch and a half high at 25 and dead on again at 50.

With a 45 I like a smidge high at 15, about 2 1/2" high at 25 and back dead on at 50.

I haven't shot much IDPA, but I think the appropriate zero is the same for both sports.

If I were using the same handgun in both sports I would set up the gun zero distance for the sport with the longest target distances most encountered.

In your case this is USPSA as often times you will see 15-25 yd targets in USPSA (some even further) while IDPA tends to maintain target distances at 15 yds and closer. If you don't have the confidence in KNOWING what the gun is capable of this can leave doubt on those looooooooooong shots (I hate doubt). The A/-0 scoring zone is a sizable target area for both sports, nothing that a 25 yd zero would not be acceptable.

I do not think that the distance is nearly as important as knowing what it will do at all distances inc. 50 yds.

Zero it at 15 then see what it does at 5, 25, 40 & 50. Make sure you do it off a rest /sand bags. You will be amazed.

I agree with warpspeed on the 15 yd zero and the shooting off of a bag. But after doing the bag shooting, make sure you do it offhand because the point of impact can and sometime does change when standing, especially with an open gun with a comp. Be sure to check your zero at 3 yds out to at least 50 and even try a 60 or 70. You never know what might be thrown at you.

Old Blind Squirrel B)

• 2 weeks later...