Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First Time At The Range

plunk

Newbie here. Bear with me.

I have been shooting my carry weapon at the local gun club where I am a member. One of the guys invited me to come out sometime to the other range in town where they have practical shooting competition. Today I went.

There were about 25 shooters there and several scenarios set up. Everything seemed very organized and cordial. I think I was the only stranger there. I introduced myself to a couple of people and said why I was there. I stayed in the background and took in a lot about what was going on. It was a perfect day and everyone seemed to be having a good time.

I quickly came to the realization that I need another gun. Well, who *doesn't* need another gun? Anyway, my little carry weapon is definitely not usable in competition. I have shot my friend's Kimber 1911 and I liked it. I was wondering if the readers here have recommendations for a beginner. Something on the lighter-weight end of the scale. I am female and don't have a lot of upper body strength. I have held a Glock 26 and it felt good in my hand but I have never shot one.

I also need more *stuff*. Belt, magazine holders, new range bag, stuff like that.

Thanks for your input.

plunk

Plunk, welcome to the forum. Not knowing if you went to a USPSA or IDPA match I will try to help with something that will fit both. A Glock, a 17 or 34, in 9mm. Fits both sports, inexpensive to buy and shoot with out reloading. The friend who invited you to the match is likely to be a scorce of info. At the botton of the forum there is a ladys forum. Contact these gals, most of them have been where you are now with the shooting sports and have a wealth of info(not that I,m trying to guide you out of the forum in general, lots of good folks with a lot of info that they gladly share).------Larry

Edited by lkytx