Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Crossing Over

rhgunguy

An IDPA club recently opened up around here and I was thinking about trying that out. However, I looked into it and saw that the rules are very different. Would it be a bad idea to start IDPA when I barely have the hang of IPSC (I am hanging by fingernails)? On the other hand it would get me more trigger-time. What are your opinions?

I'm a hopelessly addicted noob as well and have shot IDPA, IPSC, and Steel Challenge. Time behind the gun under the clock has really paid off for me. Everytime I go to a match, I learn things that transfer over. I see no problem with it for me. Now I'm getting ready to try 3-gun. Is there a support group somewhere for this?????

If you're primarily shooting IPSC there's no downside to also shooting IDPA. But the reverse may not be true -- shooting IPSC may hurt your IDPA scores.

IPSC is about safely shooting a course of fire as quickly and accurately as possible. IDPA is about shooting the COF quickly and accurately, but also tactically -- not exposing more than half of your body behind cover, tactical reloads and shooting order, etc. IDPA COFs also tend to be more choreographed. So, some IPSC shooters -- myself included -- end up with a lot of procedurals when we play in IDPA. OTOH, its good discipline and trigger time is trigger time.

An IDPA club recently opened up around here and I was thinking about trying that out. However, I looked into it and saw that the rules are very different. Would it be a bad idea to start IDPA when I barely have the hang of IPSC (I am hanging by fingernails)? On the other hand it would get me more trigger-time. What are your opinions?

It depends on what you want to accomplish. If your goal is to shoot more, by all means do both. This is what I found when I used to be bi:

USPSA -> IDPA

I would get in trouble for doing at least one speed reload without thinking,

I would get called on the use of cover.

IDPA -> USPSA