Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Replacement For Dillon Bench Wrench

First I am a newbie to the forum but have been lurking a while before registering and have reloaded w/Dillon products for almost twenty years.

Secondly, in the interests of disclosure, I am absolutely a klutz with no mechanical ability at all.

I read with interest the thread(s) concerning replacing the Bench

Wrench with (I thought) a deep socket and, finally, went to Sears and bought one. It was a 1 1/8" 1/2" drive and I took it home, proudly dropped it over the FL resizing 30/06 die on my RL550B and found it would not fit because of the close space.

Chagrined, I returned to Sears, mumbled something about it not being what I needed, took the refund and slid dejectedly out of the store.

The Bench Wrench is usable, but a socket with a breaker bar would be quicker, more certain in its grip but I can't understand how you guys are using one, if you are.

Please advise, but remember to talk down to me as I am obviously challenged at least on this matter.

(BTW-even for someone like me, my 550 loads rifle rounds which will shoot better than any, and I mean any, factory rounds I can buy-and cheaper and consistently).

Bob

With a socket how would you hold the die while you tightened the nut? The Dillon 1" plain wrench does it for me, the dies don't necessarily have to be torqued down just tight enough not to loosen, fully within the capabilities of their $6 wrench.

Yup, This is the one that works for me :D Works fine on the dies and would probably never get used anywhere else which means I can find it when I need it!

The 1" wrench & new lock rings are what I went to for all 4 of the heads I have. Beats the multi-purpose wrench all to pieces. Works great for the powder measure too.